Archive for November 4th, 2009

Science at home: DIY terrarium

by Katie Bowell, Curator of Cultural Interpretation

I wish I had a green thumb. I’ve tried to grow many things but, with the exception of a mangy basil plant that’s still hanging in there, all the plants eventually give up and join that great garden in the sky. Secretly, I suspect  this is because all plants hate me and would rather wither than live in my apartment, but I can’t prove it.

However, I think I may have found a plant project that even I can’t screw up: The DIY Terrarium.

89

What you’ll need:

  • Empty clear jar with a screw-on lid
  • Moss with some extra soil attached
  • Plastic bag
  • Water

What to do:

Head outside and find some moss. Even in this cooler weather there’s still plenty to be found. Grab a handful and put it in the plastic bag.

Take a clean jar (I’m going to use an old pickle jar) and make a little mound of extra soil on the lid.

68

Place the moss on top of the soil, doming it a bit so it will fit into the jar. Water lightly.

78

Gently slide the jar down over the lid and screw into place. If the jar has a good seal, the moisture level should stay pretty constant and the moss will keep growing. If the terrarium starts to look a little dry, unscrew the lid a little and run under water for a minute. Display your terrarium where it will get both sun and compliments!

terrarium

all images courtesy of Design*Sponge


November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers