From the Archives: Rosalie Kelly Remembers – Walden

by Pat Walker, Research Assistant, Local History Archives

The Fort Collins Local History Archive has a large collection of Oral Histories taken in the early 1970s. Rosalie Kelley Remembers is a series of excerpts taken from an interview with Rosalie Kelly, a descendant of North Park pioneer families the Pinkhams and Allards, May 22, 1975.

Now I’m trying to think about different things that were interesting in Walden when I first went there. Well, I remember my first day of school. And – oh, it was an adventure to us. Guy and I had always played by ourselves. We didn’t have other kids to play with. And here were all these kids, there was eight grades and the four grades of high school in one little building. But oh, that seemed enormous to me. Now there are four, five, six buildings on that campus. That’s a regular little campus. But then, this was one school house. And a little girl that I didn’t know then, but have know all my life and she’s a life-long friend, came up and put her hands in mine – took ahold of mine and she said, “You’re a new little girl here, Rosalie. If you come out at recess with me, back behind the school house, I’ll tell you where babies come from.” (laughter) That was my memory of my first day at school. I said, “Well, you really don’t need to bother, because my mother’s already told me.” (laughter)

Another thing we enjoyed, and just had a ball when we first got there, was, if Mamma wasn’t along and Guy and I went over – we only lived about a block from Main Street – we’d run up and down those board sidewalks, so you’d hear them clatter, you know, and clang, but if she was around, there was no running on the board sidewalks.

There’s a little soda fountain in Dr. Fisher’s Pharmacy and we could go in there and for a nickel we could get and ice cream soda.

And we’d lived always on a ranch, you know, so my, that was something to get that ice cream soda.”

Walden School Classroom

Walden, Colorado August 4, 1903

The Snyder House Hotel, Walden, Colorado about 1910

3 Responses to “From the Archives: Rosalie Kelly Remembers – Walden”


  1. 1 Doug Ernest October 18, 2010 at 8:38 am

    As one of those involved in the indexing process, I note that this transcript is an example why online searchers need to be flexible. In the transcript the community where Rosalie Kelly lived as a child is spelled Pink Hampton, whereas the actual name is Pinkhampton (a single word). Both versions are included as keywords in the transcript index, so searchers should retrieve the transcript regardless of how they enter the name. That might not always be the case, so the lesson is to not give up too easily. Try an alternative spelling if the first attempt fails.

    Doug

  2. 2 Katie October 18, 2010 at 10:19 am

    Great tip, Doug! It’s always better to cast a wide net and include variations when doing information searches.

  3. 3 Lesley October 18, 2010 at 11:28 am

    Agreed, Doug. Good information!


Comments are currently closed.



October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

