From the Archive: Summer Camp

by Lesley Drayton, Curator, Fort Collins Local History Archive

Getting ready to go to camp this summer?

Recently, while going through a box of letters, postcards, and other ephemera donated to the Museum from a Fort Collins resident, I came across a batch of 1960s promotional material for the High Trails Ranch girls’ camp, still located and operating in Florissant, Colorado. I found this “Recipe for a Memory” from a 1962 brochure too charming to keep to myself:

Summer Camp Recipe for a Memory

I especially enjoy the “stock in trade” at the top of the page that includes boxes of sunsets, campfires, and pack trips, with an additional canister of horses and a bottle of skit night. Sign me up for camp!

1 Response to “From the Archive: Summer Camp”


  1. 1 Chris Jarvis September 18, 2012 at 4:39 am

    ‘I Remember High Trails Ranch”
    Class of 1974. Chris Jarvis Iveywild elementary 6th. grade Colo,Springs,Colo. O.M.Great god. Been there,loved that! did the stage play skit,churned butter in 100yr.old buildings down in a valley.
    Uh hmmmm? oh stoney mountain you could fit your body into crevasses in the rock. and ohhhh, all the aspen trees. lots of hiking.
    And I remember the food being great, and going home ,,,,tired…ha,ha.
    I think I have some pics ? not good ones just evidence of me being in one of the most beautiful places on earth.
    And just one of the hundreds of memories I have of being born & raised in Colorado Springs…. I Miss It!
    I now live in Dallas Texas. And I was just talking to my kids about
    High Trails Ranch Summer Camp….And Lesley Drayton I am so Glad I saw your site and your memory chart…does anyone remember the bus ride up to camp,,,,,????
    WOOOOOOAAAAAAA!!!! The busdrivers get er done now dont they???yepper! well I am THE 1ST. To blog with you Lesley & I will be back.

    thank you, Chris Jarvis.
    chrisjarvis1962@yahoo.com
    chrisjarvis1962@gmail.com
    hotshothandymanservice.com
    Carrollton texas.


Comments are currently closed.



May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 48 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos

