From the Archive: Mr. Steak

by Lesley Drayton, Curator, Fort Collins Local History Archive

I was going through some postcards here in the Archive and came across this gem from Mr. Steak, a restaurant located at 2712 South College Avenue in Fort Collins from around 1968 to 1988. My guess is this postcard dates from when they first opened in Fort Collins and started serving up, according to the back of the postcard, “perfectly aged USDA Choice corn-fed beef, char-broiled the way you like ‘em.”

Mr. Steak Postcard

Mr. Steak building, circa 1970

I really wish I could have gone to Mr. Steak. Doesn’t it look cozy?

By the way, the Local History Archive has hundreds of historic Fort Collins postcards. Stop by sometime and take a look!

5 Responses to “From the Archive: Mr. Steak”


  1. 1 Treloar Bower September 20, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    Hey Lesley,
    What’s at that address now?

  2. 2 Lesley September 20, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    I believe there used to be an interior design and flooring/carpet store there, but I’ll have to check when I drive by there. I think it actually might be vacant at the present. The building is located just south of the Moot House, another place (that still exists) to get a steak dinner!

  3. 3 Cassyt September 21, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    There were Mr. Steaks in MN where I grew up. That was one spiffy place! (I think there are still Embers around.)

  4. 4 Baron Bieber June 17, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    Lesley,

    The postcard reminds me again of our occasional family visit to Mr. Steak in Colorado Springs during the mid to late 1960′s, which was a treat when we ate there.

    I always ordered The Continental Burger, and I can still savor today the delicious taste of the beef stuffed with mushrooms and a creme sauce.

    Yes, it was cozy; but for a ten-year old—it was bliss.

  5. 5 mtangiepit May 16, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    I worked at this Mr Steak from 1976-1982. What great memories. The BEST blue cheese dressing!! The BEST manager, Mr Randy Newman. A Mr Marquardt owned it. Would love to revisit and eat there again. I now own a fast food restaurant and credit Mr Steak for my restaurant experience.


Comments are currently closed.



September 2010
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 48 other followers

Flickr Photos


