From the Archive: Eloquent Autographs

by Leslie Drayton, Curator, Fort Collins Local History Archive

This lovely autograph book belonged to Newton Garbutt of Laporte, Colorado, and from 1884 to 1890 he collected within its pages eloquent signatures, sayings, and words of advice from his friends in Laporte, Fort Collins, and Timnath.

The autograph book, with a pencil for scale

Newton Garbutt with Elks Club Band, 1906. He is the last man seated on the far right.

Newton sets the tone with the introductory inscription:

Friends:

In the struggles of this life,

Through the years that are to come,

When at the end of daily strife,

I rest with the setting sun

These pages will I turn again,

And each familiar name

Will bring before my memory’s eye

The owner of the same

Lerah Stratton and Lillian Post both chimed in:

Stratton autograph

Post autograph

Charles Duncan wasn’t the best speller, but his advice was still sound:

Duncan autograph

Finally, my favorite from Nellie:

Nellie's autograph

Now, I don’t want to offend my fine pals who signed my high school yearbooks (UR 2-Sweet 2B 4-Gotten), but you guys have nothing on the friends of Newton Garbutt!

1 Response to “From the Archive: Eloquent Autographs”


  1. 1 Bill July 22, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    I always enjoy looking at old autograph books.


Comments are currently closed.



July 2010
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 48 other subscribers

Flickr Photos